Television for Community

Since it was first established in 2010 its primary purpose has been to provide youth and community members with transferable skills in film, media and television, often through participation in community-based, participatory action research. These experiences also incorporate group work and participatory culture as important elements to shaping youth experiences.

Youth involved with Arviat's Film Society have made instrumental contributions to the success of dozens of visiting and community-based projects, beginning with the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada-funded Nanisiniq Arviat History Project through to its flagship initiative, Arviat Television.

Arviat Television was launched in 2013, in partnership with Isuma TV's Digital Indigenous Democracy Project. Driven largely by the youth themselves, this community-based television station delivers healthy, culturally-appropriate educational content and entertainment in the Inuktitut and English languages.

Arviat Film Society and Arviat TV members and projects have been featured in news and media outlets including Nunatsiaq News, Kivalliq News, Nunavut News North, CBC North, CBC The National, The Globe and Mail, Toronto Star and many others.

Cast and Crew

Meet some of the cast and crew of Arviat Television and Arviat Film Society, delivering innovative media and arts education training and skills development programming for youth in Arviat, Nunavut.

Eric Anoee, Jr.

Co-Founder, AFS President

Shelton Nipisar

Producer, Arviat Television

Ramon Kaviok

Producer, Arviat Television

Jamie Okatsiak

Producer, Arviat Television

Laura Tassiuk


Manasie Thompson

Producer, Arviat TV

Gord Billard

Co-Founder, Arts Educator

Ethan Tassiuk

Producer, Arviat Television

Zacharias Kunuk

Executive Creative Producer, Isuma.TV

Eva Suluk


Samuel Pauppa

Producer, Arviat Television

Alvin Illangiayok

Producer, Arviat Television

Jamie Bell

Co-Founder, Researcher and Producer

Evano Jr & Sylvia Aggark

Producers, Arviat TV

The late Mark Kalluak, O.C.


innosar Issakiark

Producer, Arviat Television

Ruth Kaviok

Producer, Arviat Television

Shelby Angalik

Producer, Arviat Television

Charmaine Koomak

Producer, Arviat TV


We would like to thank the many dedicated people and organizations who have made significant contributions to making our Arviat Film Society, Arviat Television. The many projects and experiences that have inspired and engaged our youth and community would not be possible without their support.

Hamlet of Arviat
Isuma TV
Arviat Padlei Co-Op
Arctic Cooperatives, Ltd.
John Arnalukjuak High School
University of British Columbia
University of Guelph
University of North Dakota
University of Toronto
Trent University
Carleton University
Memorial University
University of Calgary
Nunavut Arctic College
Université du Québec à Rimouski
McGill University
York University IRIS
Skills Canada and Skills Nunavut
Nanisiniq Arviat History Project
Nunavut Film Development Corporation
Nunavut Independent Television Network
Government of Nunavut Department of Economic Development and Transportation
Government of Nunavut Department of Education
Qaujigiartiit Health Research Network
The S&A Arctic Inspiration Foundation
Coca-Cola Canada Foundation
First Air
Calm Air
Canadian Institute of Child Health
Global Dignity
The Adobe Foundation
Adobe Youth Voices
SONY Canada
Telefilm Canada
Canada Media Fund Experimental Stream
Cisco Canada
The Samuel Family Foundation
The Synergos Institute
The Carter Center
Rosalynn Carter Fellowship for Mental Health Journalism
Inhabit Media
Winnipeg Art Gallery
Government of Canada
Nunavut Research Institute
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

Dr. Frank Tester, UBC Social Work
Dr. Zacharias Kunuk, O.C., Isuma TV
Dr. Andrea Breen, University of Guelph
Dr. Timothy Pasch, University of North Dakota
Dr. Greg Henry, UBC Psychology
Dr. Paula McNicol, UBC Psychology
Dr. Ian Mauro, University of Winnipeg
Dr. Peter Dawson, University of Calgary
Dr. Trevor Bell, Memorial University
Dr. Gwen Healey, Qaujigiartiit Health Research Network
Dr. Brian Manning, Nunavut Arctic College
Dr. Chris Furgal, Trent University
Dr. Amanda Boyd, Washington State University
Dylan Clark, MA, McGill University
Jessica Kwan, RN, MPH, University of Toronto
Deb Viel, RN, CCHN, MPH(c), GN Public Health
Patricia Johnston, PhD Candidate, UBC Social Work
Karina Czyzewski, MA, University of British Columbia
Jennifer Corriero, MA, Connected North, TakingITGlobal
Kim Samuel, Samuel Family Foundation
Late Mark Kalluak, O.C.
Late Linda Pemik, MA, Nunavut Arctic College
Eva Suluk
Laura Tassiuk
Neil Christopher, Inhabit Media
David Bjerklie, Rosalynn Carter Fellowship for Mental Health Journalism
Eric Anoee, Jr., Nunavut Department of Education
Jamie Bell, Nunavut Arctic College
Gord Billard, John Arnalukjuak High School
Judy Connor, John Arnalukjuak High School
Kim Dymond, John Arnalukjuak High School
Shirley Tagalik, MA, Arviat Wellness Centre
Michael Furdyk, MA, TakingITGlobal
Lindsay DuPre, MA, Connected North
Barney and Rose Tootoo
Mayor Bob Leonard, Hamlet of Arviat
Keith Collier, Hamlet of Arviat
Giovanna Mingarelli, Global Dignity
Gregory Corosky, MPH student, University of Bergen
Vincent L'Herault, PhD Candidate, UQAR